top of page

Guest Blogger Spotlight: Meghan Gieber - How I Healed My Body From Bouts of Anger Last Week


Meghan Gieber is a wellness + goals life coach, as well as a barre3 owner and instructor. You can find her on Instagram @meghangieber, and on her website meghangieber.com.


How I Healed My Body From Bouts of Anger Last Week


In all of its fury, anger is an emotion we need to handle delicately. The emotion can be felt by anyone, but it’s in how we deal with anger that can protect our health. When suppressed, anger manifests itself physically, negatively affecting our bodies. When released, anger can lead to big transformation, and our bodies are able to go back to a healthy, calm state. This blog post is meant to offer tips for how to release anger, based on how I dealt with my own last week.


I’m generally a very peaceful person, and it’s infrequent for me to feel rage. Last week, however, a few things happened that really irritated me and my arms broke out in a rash. The constant flood of adrenaline and increased heart rate was taking a toll on my body. I wasn’t going to let my emotions get the best of me, so here’s how I healed my mind and rash:


  1. Accept the feeling of anger. Admitting to feeling anger can feel vulnerable, which leads to suppressing it. By accepting that anger is present, releasing begins.

  2. Acknowledge sensations in the body. Tuning into the body with eyes closed and noticing physical signals from the feet up through the crown of the head provides awareness of where the body stores anger. These sensations might feel restricting, tight, short-winded, heavy, or achy. None of them are good for us, and bringing awareness to them starts to release suppression.

  3. Carve out a few minutes of breath work. The simple practice of slow breathing reduces stress immediately. Sending breath down into the areas of tension starts to loosen them up.

  4. Give the body permission to release rage. This affirmation, said out loud, heals: “I give myself permission to release all rage I currently feel inside of my body in order to protect my health, and move forward from the experience that taught me a lesson.”

  5. Talk or write about how anger feels in this situation. Expressing emotions is critical to the healing process. If applicable, speak with the person who caused anger, or write the feelings down. This practice brings emotion from inside to outside.

  6. Put yourself in a calm environment. The body wants to be in its natural feeling state of peace. Cozy up on the couch with a blanket, open a bedroom window, or make a cup of tea. A nature walk will also help calm the nerves and spike endorphins.

  7. Get lots of sleep. Adrenaline is tiring and the body seeks rest. Rest helps recenter the body and mind and is often a great remedy for feeling better.

  8. Rinse and repeat. Be patient. Anger can take time to subside. But with this plan, the anger should soften each day.

Moments of anger can happen to us all! But you don’t have to let it affect your overall health. Instead of neglecting it, which causes the body to drown in adrenaline and a high heart rate, take action towards releasing and see how quickly you heal.

If you resonate with this article and experience irritation or rage, I am here for you. To schedule your free session, send me an email at meghan@meghangieber.com.

 

The Guest Blogger Spotlight is for shining the light on people that have used their mental health journeys as fuel to get them to where they are today. If you'd like to be featured, send an e-mail to Nicole@Husmus.co!

22 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page